Education

Looking forward with renewed optimism

sunset

I’m having a reflective moment as Christmas draws near and my few months of supply teaching draws to an end. What I thought would be a bleak period in my teaching career has actually been positive, something I didn’t expect.

 

When I first qualified as a teacher I was adamant that I didn’t want to be a supply teacher and to be honest I don’t think I would have been any good at all in those early days, when I was still wet behind the ears. Roll on 20 years and I was surprised after teaching in a few different schools that it was actually going well: no class had rioted and feedback from the schools was positive (although feedback was very different from usual performance management discussions, as I was told I was friendly and punctual- yes I did know that thank you very much). It has been a real privilege to visit so many classrooms, meet so many different children, magpie ideas to use back in my own classroom in the New Year.

 

Don’t get me wrong it’s not been all plain sailing; I mean my monthly wages have taken a serious hit. Also I don’t like the unpredictability of work, where you are all geared up to go to a school but find out last minute that the boiler had broken down, so no work that day, so money. And no one prepares you for that sick feeling in your stomach when driving to yet another new school, no one prepares you for being the ‘new girl’ day after day, this is one aspect that I’m not going to miss.

 

Looking back at my darkest days last February, when it dawned on me I wouldn’t be able to continue teaching at the school I loved, it’s funny how it’s all worked out. I am looking forward to January with renewed optimism, looking forward to having to a class again to call ‘my class’. I am looking forward to what the future brings, not so afraid of change anymore.

2 thoughts on “Looking forward with renewed optimism

  1. Nice post – just catching up on these. “And no one prepares you for that sick feeling in your stomach when driving to yet another new school, no one prepares you for being the ‘new girl’ day after day, this is one aspect that I’m not going to miss.”
    I’m not a teacher, but that’s a very familiar part of my professional life as a consultant – always looking to make a good first impression and feeling that you have to prove yourself. I don’t like that side of the job, but after a long time doing it I get a bit proud that it’s something you get pretty good at – it’s a skill just like everything else. Do you find that too?

    Like

    1. Know exactly what you mean- you have to put on a brave face, be positive and smile. I found that if I initiated conversations and asked questions people opened up and it all was a lot easier.

      Like

Leave a Reply

